NAGA I AM 

Hi guys, 

It’s been a while. 

This post has been a long time coming… 

And it is titled  ” NAGA”

BecAuSe Apparently I Nag !!!

Yeah Yeah Yeah….. 

I remember  the first day, My elder sister, said “God, Dunmo you are a nagger! ” But I was not absolutely paying attention to her, so I heard her say “Naga” – I’m not sure, but Naga was a character in the Avatar Animation Series.  So in my head,  I was wondering what that had to do with us and the present situation. Till it hit me that she meant I’m  a nagger. 

I’m  sure my sister did not check the dictionary to see if the word actually exists, but I had pushed her to the wall,  So she conferred upon me the title “Nagger” as culled from the verb “nag” rather than the call me a “nag”as the noun for a person who nags. 

The word nagger actually exists.. 

It took me a while to admit that what she had diagnosed me with was true, but here I am some months later admitting that Apparently I nag. 

I’d like to believe I am a simple person…but when I subject myself to a quick comparison to the  people who are generally accepted or regarded as simple people,  I see that maybe I’m not so simple. 

I don’t have a lot of ” do not’s”, but I have a couple of “do’s”.

I remember when I was in high school and someone called me a perfectionist… I was like..Really?? . But,  it was for a positive reason.. So I embraced it and kept living my life with that notion in mind… I’m pretty good at a couple of things, so I like for a certain standard to be maintained and everyone involved  MUST work towards that standard if I’m interested… 

A nagger/nag according to the dictionary definition is A person who incessantly complains in an annoying  way about insignificant things… 

My sister, who was my roommate in school and at home should know who I am more than the average person…. So when she says something..  I think she should have a level of persuasive authority… We slept on the same bed, ate from the same pot and lived together…  So why did she call me a nag? 

Looking back at the dictionary definition,let’s see if I qualify as a nag :

What were the things I used to complain about? Was it in an annoying way? Were they insignificant things? 

1) My environment : I like my space a LOT!  So I would complain…  That the bed is not laid without creases or absolutely tucked in; That there are dirty or wet footprints on the floor,  if  I Just Cleaned! Or  that there are hairstrands on the floor or that something is not in it’s place… That the bathroom was not moped by the previous user or something was up.  I like cleaning… I could sweep over and over just so when I come back home, I  am coming back to a CLEAN ROOM – I think a clean space is one of the most beautiful things and after a long day nothing is as draining as coming back to  a dirty room.

My sister is a clean person by the way. She just likes comfort, fun and some other activities over a PERFECTLY CLEAN or ABSOLUTELY ARRANGED SPACE.  

Some of my friends think that I have OCD but I do not think so. 

Please note: I am not one to complain that you are pressing toothpaste from the middle instead of the bottom of the tube, although I think it’s prettier if pressed from the bottom…. 

Then I complain about the most random things that are not right that I am connected to -if It is in my space –  but if it’s not my space… you can do all you want… Like it is not my bussiness what you do in your space… and  I BELIEVE IT IS POSSIBLE TO MAINTAIN A CLEAN SPACE AND ENJOY PROPER ARRANGEMENTS…  

I would not clean 10 times with disinfectant, but I can clean five  – seven times in a day.. 

I really think it’s rude and improper to come into a clean space and leave it dirtier… 

My mum used to say: “if you cannot leave a thing better than you met it; leave it exactly the way you met it. “

I try to fix things and I like to fix things… : But I complain if people repeatedly mess what i fix up or do not leave things the way I would rather have them be *** I complain if I can fix things or if I Cannot FIX THEM…I co main if the person who is to fix it, does not fix it.  If I can fix..  I complain before I fix and while I’m fixing and after I fix.. 

And I am complaining right now! I am sorry -_ –

Yes – I Nag – 

So a friend of mine told me recently that : ” You nag! ” another said : “Dunmo,  you are a control freak.. ” and even though they both said it jokingly… it carried my mind back to when my sister called me a nagger and I figured if one, two,  three people are saying this…. Just maybe it’s  true… 

So this is my special public announcement attempt to be a better person and make life easier for people around me by complaining less and being more accommodating… 

SO HELP ME GOD! 

I would appreciate advice on how to be less of a clean freak, territory cleanser and more accommodating – Advice any one? 

Don’t forget to follow via email –  

And on Instagram : @kjd_lautitiaazurevents 

Bimidiah Cares. 

Xoxoxoxoxo

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Abe says:

    Well I think those are symptoms of OCD(you can check up on it, they’re right), cos I was once or still am a perfectionist but I’ve learned to dial it down a notch. My advice, no one is perfect, you’ve gotta learn to understand that people don’t see things the way you do, you could set boundaries for them not to cross, but often times they are still gonna get on your nerves. I just feel you’ve gotta learn to TOLERATE people. Nagging makes things kinda worse, so I feel tolerance is key to you know, coping with the imperfection in people around you. Great post by the way. Just a piece from my heart

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Abe
      Candid advice…
      I know nagging makes it worse, I definitely do.
      I hope to get better and restrain myself….
      Thank you once again

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t even no what to say but I think you are a very pleasant, enjoyable, pleasing, pleasurable, agreeable, satisfying, gratifying, acceptable, friendly, agreeable, amiable, affable, genial, likeable, amicable, lovely, good-humoured, personable, congenial, hospitable and approachable fellow but I don’t know why some one that happen to be your sister call you nagger, as a communicator I try to validate the word within my profession and I got to realised that The word is derived from the Scandinavian nagga, which means “to gnaw, in interpersonal communication, is repetitious behaviour in the form of pestering, hectoring, or otherwise continuously urging an individual to complete previously discussed requests or act on advice. Nagging is “the interaction in which one person repeatedly makes a request, the other person repeatedly ignores it and both become increasingly annoyed”.
    If I am to now evaluate you with this then you are a nagger, but lovely person at the same time

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you.
      Your perspective as a communicator is surely a different and refreshing one and I almost can validate my actions and tag by looking at it from the origins of the word. Thank you very much for all the qualifying adjectives that you used to describe me though. I hope to get better. Thanks

      Like

  3. oluchee says:

    I just get obsessed with organization at various times. Some days I can be comfort at a messy place and other days I’ll be seen remarkably tidying up

    Messy is very different from unclean mind you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol
      Oluchee
      I understand that – Like right now – I’m not in the most arranged place – but I’m good – lol- and true – messy can be clean clothes scattered around a room, while unclean can be perfectly arranged, but Dusty room. Nice

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

