KING JESUDUNMO _ FLOWERS ON MY GRAVE

KING JESUDUNMO _ FLOWERS ON MY GRAVE

This story does not end with flowers on my grave

You see,

To us love came, rich easy and free

Or at least that was what I thought before he put a diamond on it

What I reached for the most, my make up kit 

I think, or is it my first aid box???

Believe me; he looks good in a tux

The perfect gentleman, very impressive  

But believe me, perfect is subjective

Of his initial affection, I the object

Of his depression, I yet again, the subject

This story does not end with flowers on my grave

No, I didn’t see this before we got married 

Or maybe I ignored the signs or they just tarried 

He never shouted at me, he just had a really loud voice

So when people complained, I said he was my choice

I liked him like that

Now my thrashed face competes with my bleeding heart

See, It all started with a slap, across my once fine flawless face

My voice was raised, so my steps he made me retrace

The next I’d always forget not to remember

A whore I was for talking to a church member 

This story does not end with flowers on my grave

For that, with a belt, me he lashed at then gave a car

But at my back I drive a luxurious scar

Away with my mind and lies that he would change

As his apologies are in the classy range

But it happens again and again and again

Leaving him, too much shame for me not a bargain

And then it happened, I mean the fifth miscarriage

I knew, I mean my blood showed I wanted out of this marriage

It was DO or DIE and I was tired of doing

So the next time, something died, it was NOT my blood that was flowing


NO NO NO, this story does not end with flowers on my grave

But it sure ends with my single head in a shave 

– King Jesudunmo (Written for Spoken Word )

#WrittenbyBimidiah

#leAve a comment

Follow via email

8 Comments Add yours

  1. VinX Poetry says:

    Epic!!! You nailed it. Lovely piece

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Vinx

      Liked by 2 people

  2. haddajah says:

    Good read

    Like

  3. christus igboekwe says:

    one of the most touching poems I’ve come across since i started reading poems… tho I’ve always known you to be a good writer and story teller, this is just amazing, awesome and mesmerizing… #keep #the #good #work #up

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One of the most touching comments I have come across since I started writing poems 😀😀😀😀; This is super encouraging, Christus 😀😀😀😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

